The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

lizzielovett

I just finished The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti and I must say it was quite a whirlwind. I feel like this book had lots of highs and lows and to be honest it isn’t going down as one of my favorites but it was a decent read. I’m glad I read it though. I feel like it was missing something and up until we learn about what happened with Lizzie Lovett, it was actually dragging a bit. I did enjoy the main character alot though!

For starters, Hawthorne Creely(whose first name is incredible if I may add), is a down to earth and relateable character. I really felt it when Hawthorne was sad and when she was happy. I feel like she is like a lot of girls in high school. Not everyone is a cheerleader or even has a niche they fit into. For all those girls, there is Hawthorne. She is sometimes irrational and jumps to conclusions..but shes so darn loveable. And she kept me going while I waded through the river that was this book. And let me tell you, the current was strong at times.

The basic premise of this story is that a girl named Lizzie Lovett who used to attend Hawthorne’s school has gone missing. Lizzie was a cheerleader and basically the opposite of Hawthorne. She was THAT girl in high school…but after high school we’ll just say she didn’t continue to impress. She became a waitress in a neighboring town before going misisng. Hawthorne decides to trace Lizzie’s steps in life so to speak in an attempt to figure out what went wrong. However, a few romps in the wood with Lizzie’s ex did not turn up anything and the book begins to get stale. Somehow I am still attached to finding out what happened to Lizzie and follow Hawthorne’s journey on what I believe will be one of self exploration. It does get quite a bit better when we find out what happens with Lizzie and while I still was ready to be done, I did enjoy the plotline that explained Lizzie’s fate. I liked alot of the other characters well enough but I couldn’t deal with the monotony of the story however, Hawthorne is so likeable that I had to see how it ended. Each chapter leads us one step closer to learning more about Lizzie and Hawthorne and the last 20-30 percent of the book was great. I also really liked the beginning of the book. The middle was the meh part for me.

All in all, I would recommend this book but if you go in with high expectations, you may be let down. I was. I would give this book a 3.5/5 and I will end with saying what I’ve said already…Hawthorne is a great character and I feel like Sedoti really nailed it when she created her.

I received this e-book as an arc from NetGalley for no charge and I really appreciated the chance to read/review it! However, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

