Lala Pettibone’s Act Two by Heidi Mastrogiovanni

images

 

My latest read was Lala Pettibone’s Act Two by Heidi Mastrogiovanni. I expected to be in for a fun, light hearted read and got exactly what I was after.

For starters, Lala Pettibone is a 40 something who is seeking her second coming. The title of the book depicts this as her “Act Two” which is meant to be the second part of her “play” in life. It give off very “How Stella Got Her Groove Back” vibes. She is looking for love and a happy life. While successful in her career, she has been a widow for some time and is looking to put an end to serial dating and a beginning on a new relationship. Lala is such a loveable characters and I just loved her antics. She is quite the character. I also loved that she loved animals and wanted to help them. She has a big heart and it showed.

The cover of the book was meh to me and I kept wondering why the author would choose this for her cover. However now that I have finished the book, I realize all of the bits and pieces of Lala’s story are represented on the cover. I now really like the cover.

If you are searching for a quick, light read with humor, some romance, and a fun loving main character, you should pick this up. This book is Mastrogiovanni debut novel and while not perfect, it was enjoyable. I give this book a 3.5/5 stars. I would read a followup book to this if released to see what became of the characters so I must have liked it some.

I received this as an ARC.
Thanks to NetGalley and Amberjack Publishing for sending it to me.
This book is set to release February 21st, 2017.

Leave a Reply

