The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

30095464

Alright so I have finally finished this book and while I thought it was okay, it was hard to get through.

 

I liked the cover of the book. I also liked the style of Rin Chupeco’s writing and I really liked Tea, the main character. I felt like the story wasn’t bad but for some reason,  it was lacking and I just couldn’t get sucked in. I wanted to. I mean the blurb…wow.

It says:

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

What?! That made me want to just dive in and never come up for air. And it made me think that I would feel like I couldn’t get enough and devour the story in a sitting. But that did not happen. Not even close. I enjoyed the whole story behind the dark Asha and the daeva and the characters were fine too but certain things about the story irked me. One, the alternating time in the chapters. They appeared to be going back and forth in time from when Tea was training and then to when she was a full fledged bone witch. I don’t know about anyone else but it was a bit confusing for me. Then the huas. Oh my gosh. Chupeco felt the need to describe what each Asha was wearing with the most detail and it kind of took away from the story because of the emphasis on the clothes. I know the has have magic stitched into the fabric but I don’t know why I needed to hear every color and design for every single person wearing them. The whole part with Tea’s brother in the beginning was weird but I thought it was cool that he was arisen and would be her companion despite not being a living person. That was gnarly. Since she’s a necromancer basically, of course having an undead sidekick sounds cool. However, Fox wasn’t really badass like I hoped he would be. He was just ok. Most of the characters were just ok. I give the story a 3/5 and that is because the ending was actually interesting and the pace really picked up. I saw that alot of people dnf’d this book or just took forever to read it. It has been two weeks and this book was a thorn in my side and I’m just glad it’s over. To be honest, I’m confused because I feel like I didn’t like it but I did. Lol. I would be willing to read a sequel but I wouldn’t be at the edge of my seat for it. Great premise for a story but it was not well executed.

Thanks to NetGalley for allowing me the opportunity to read this review before it is released and for no charge. My opinions are my own though.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

