Lola by Melissa Scrivner Love

510zFZesBkL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

I am blown away.

This book is so incredible. I feel like I just went to the best amusement park and spent the day riding thrill ride after thrill ride. It is so refreshing to read a book that doesn’t involve magic or a sappy love story. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy those types of books sometimes but this book was so real on such a deep level.

Lola is the main character of this story and she is a strong and loveable lead. Lola is the shadow leader of a up and coming gang in her neighborhood. In other words, she doesn’t show the public that she is the leader and to most, she just appears to be the leader’s girlfriend. Her boyfriend, Garcia actually appears to be the boss but in reality the gang follows Lola’s orders because she has proven herself capable of taking care of them.

Lola’s story is one that grips you. It’s hard to believe the things she has gone through and still goes through. I found myself cheering her on and hoping she would triumph in the end.

I was sent a copy of this book by Librarything and am so gracious to them for sending it! However, my thoughts and opinions are still my own. I give this book a 5/5!

Warning: The book contains violence and mentions drugs and sex and abuse. It is definitely an adult book.

Leave a Reply

