Caraval by Stephanie Garber

 

27883214

Yup. Finally. FINALLY. I really read it. I have had this book since release date and just got around to it.

Caraval is such an interesting book. The story is about two sisters, Scarlett and Donatella, who live with their cruel father and dream of leaving their home and finally escaping from his clutches. Scarlett writes letters to a mysterious man named Legend asking him to visit. Legend is the head of a performance group who perform once a year. The audience is a part of the show and there is to be a winner who will receive a prize. Upon escaping with the help of a mysterious guy, the sisters become separated and it turns out one of them has been kidnapped by none other than Legend. The book repeatedly mentions that Caraval is a game and everything that happens is simply part of the show. However, the tale cautions that it is possible to become caught up in what’s real and what isn’t.

Garber weaves a fun, mysterious, and dark tale about romance, illusion, and magic. It is a captivating tale and I felt on the edge of my seat the entire time. I could not out this book down and felt totally enmeshed in the lives of the characters. I was dying to see how it ended and I won’t spoil it, but let’s just say I hope there is a sequel!

I loved this story and the only thing I was sort of hung up on was the romance bits..Maybe I was not in the mood for it and just wanted the mystery and magic. Or maybe I’m tired of YA books having so much romance in them. I give the book a 4/5 and will be rereading it later this year because it was so good.

Happy reading guys!

Leave a Reply

